The Scientists

A Family Romance

The  Scientists
£8.99 £7.19
Author:
Format: Paperback / softback, 208 Pages
ISBN: 9781908526205
Publisher: Union Books
Buy from an Online Retailer
UK:
            
CA:
      
AU:
   

Description

‘ Marco Roth’ s book about his father is a farewell to a bygone culture – polygot, intellectual, Europhile, psychoanalytic – and simultaneously a renewal of that culture. It’ s moving, tough-minded, and distinctive, a memoir the likes of which nobody else could write.’ Benjamin Kunkel, author of  Indecision

With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician – from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce a word like ‘ deoxyribonucleic acid’ or recite a French poem – Marco Roth was able to share his parents’ New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.

What this family would not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it’ s a story of how preciousness can slow us down when it comes to understanding our desires and other people’ s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

The author

MARCO ROTH was raised among the vanished liberal culture of Manhattan’s Upper West Side. After studying comparative literature at Columbia and Yale, he helped found the magazine n+1 in 2004 with Chad Harbach and Benjamin Kunkel. The recipient of the 2011 Shattuck Prize for literary criticism, he lives in Philadelphia.

Reader reviews

Specs

Format: Paperback / softback, 208 Pages
ISBN: 9781908526205
Size: 5.079 in x 7.795 in / 129 mm x 198 mm
Published:

You might also be interested in

An Inside Look at I Know a Woman
Kate Hodges graduated from the University of Westminster with a BA in Print Journalism. She has over 20 years writing experience on magazines, having been a staffer on publications including The Face, Bizarre, Just Seventeen, Smash Hits and Sky, and written for many more, including The Guardian, Kerrang! and NME. Her new book, I Know a Woman, details the extraordinary achievements, relationships and ...
Read More >
Womanskills for Friendship
Erin La Rosa’s book, Womanskills, is packed with helpful techniques and tips for cooking, money matters, style, relationships, home improvement, and more. This excerpt from the book will give you tips on making new friends and how to end a toxic friendship. Enter to win a copy of Womanskills below! Make New Friends It’s a truth universally ...
Read More >
Womanskills at Work
Erin La Rosa’a Womanskills is packed with helpful techniques and tips for cooking, money matters, style, relationships, home improvement, and more.  Be a boss at work with these six tips from the book! Enter to win a copy of Womanskills below! ACE A JOB INTERVIEW There are plenty of candidate fish in the sea. So ...
Read More >
See More Posts