Look At This If You Love Great Art

100 essential artworks that really matter

Look At This If You Love Great Art
$19.95 / £14.99
Author:
Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256064
Buy from an Online Retailer
We do not sell books through our website in the UK.
Please use the links below to buy from online retailers
US:
            
UK:
            
CA:
      
AU:
   

Description

Look At This If You Love Great Art is a must read for anyone with a passion for exceptional art. Featuring 100 of the best artworks ever produced, inside is a collection of insightful summaries on just what it is that makes each one so vital.

Art writer Chloë Ashby talks you through the pieces that resonate with her, revealing the fascinating stories behind them and offering her considered take on why each work should be regarded as a pinnacle of artistic endeavour. With entries curated to offer a unique juxtaposition of styles, mediums and schools of art, expect a contemporary take on classic artworks, where titans of art history cross paths with under-appreciated examples from outside the traditional canon, and where rebellious visionaries blaze trails that still influence today’s cutting-edge artists.

Covering all the most important genres of art –Abstraction, Pop Art, Surrealism, Renaissance art, Impressionism and more – this engaging summary only deals with artworks that really matter and the reasons why you have to see them.
 

The author

Chloë Ashby is a writer and editor. Since graduating from the Courtauld Institute of Art, she has written about art and culture for the TLSGuardianFT Life & ArtsSpectatorApollofrieze and others. She is the author of The Colours of Art: The Story of Art in 80 Colour Palettes, which will be published by Frances Lincoln in spring 2022. Her short fiction has appeared in The London Magazine and The Fairlight Book of Short Stories. Her first novel, Wet Paint, will be published by Trapeze, also in spring 2022.
www.chloeashby.com  

Reader reviews

Specs

Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256064
Illustrations: 100 colour photos
Size: 6.496 in x 8.858 in / 165 mm x 225 mm
Published:

You might also be interested in

Elements Of Composition
Learn the basics of composition with Drawing School: Fundamentals for the Beginner! The elements of composition are point, shape, mass, volume, texture, value, and color. Let’s talk about a few of them one by one. Point A point is a single mark on a page without depth, height, or length. A group of points in ...
Read More >
Celebrate Mother’s Day!
Mother’s Day is just around the corner and we’re sharing fun activities and recipes to help mom celebrate! Now through May 13th, get 35% off your order with the code MOM18. Dream Big Dreams Get Inspired Try the Latest Craft Trend Make Time for Self-Care  Gather Together in the Kitchen   Get Zen with Paper Crafts ...
Read More >
Expressive Painting: Reflections
How do you make a watercolor stand out? Try adding reflections! In Expressive Painting we see how to make our paintings alive. Reflections add energy and color to a scene. They can suggest an afternoon rainstorm or help make the foreground interesting. Paint reflections at the same time you paint the object. If there is a ...
Read More >
See More Posts