Look At This If You Love Great Photography

100 essential images that really matter

Look At This If You Love Great Photography
$19.95 / £14.99
Author:
Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256040
Buy from an Online Retailer
We do not sell books through our website in the UK.
Please use the links below to buy from online retailers
US:
            
UK:
            
CA:
      
AU:
   

Description

Look At This If You Love Great Photography is a must read for anyone who appreciates the power of the image. Featuring 100 of the best photographs ever captured on camera, Gemma Padley offers concise, insightful summaries on just what it is that makes each one so special.

Having written for some of the most important publications on modern photography, Gemma draws on her expert knowledge to reveal the fascinating stories behind these incredible pictures, focusing in on why each image chosen represents such a high point in photographic history. Uniquely curated to offer a fresh perspective on the medium, expect to see pictures from legends of the art form, including Ansel Adams and Martin Parr, alongside cutting-edge examples from the studios of the most creative photographers operating today.

Whether it’s gut-punching photojournalism that changed public opinion and made us question who we are, or images that rewrite the rules of photography and blur the lines between other art forms, this is a penetrating rundown of the pictures that really matter and you need to see them.
 

The author

Gemma Padley is a writer and editor on photography. Her clients, past and present, include: British Journal of Photography, Elephant magazine, AnOther Magazine, the BBC, Magnum Photos, Hoxton Mini Press, The Telegraph, Time LightBox and the RPS Journal.

Reader reviews

Specs

Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256040
Illustrations: 100 colour photos
Size: 6.496 in x 8.858 in / 165 mm x 225 mm
Published:

You might also be interested in

Elements Of Composition
Learn the basics of composition with Drawing School: Fundamentals for the Beginner! The elements of composition are point, shape, mass, volume, texture, value, and color. Let’s talk about a few of them one by one. Point A point is a single mark on a page without depth, height, or length. A group of points in ...
Read More >
Celebrate Mother’s Day!
Mother’s Day is just around the corner and we’re sharing fun activities and recipes to help mom celebrate! Now through May 13th, get 35% off your order with the code MOM18. Dream Big Dreams Get Inspired Try the Latest Craft Trend Make Time for Self-Care  Gather Together in the Kitchen   Get Zen with Paper Crafts ...
Read More >
Expressive Painting: Reflections
How do you make a watercolor stand out? Try adding reflections! In Expressive Painting we see how to make our paintings alive. Reflections add energy and color to a scene. They can suggest an afternoon rainstorm or help make the foreground interesting. Paint reflections at the same time you paint the object. If there is a ...
Read More >
See More Posts