Eyes Wide Open

Eyes Wide Open by Andy Powell

True Tales Of A Wishbone Ash Warrior

Foreword by:
Format: Paperback / softback, 320 Pages
ISBN: 9781908279811
Publisher: Jawbone Press
Buy from an Online Retailer
$19.95 $15.96

In 1969, Andy Powell was one of four founding members of progressive rock pioneers Wishbone Ash. Forty-five years later, with no sabbaticals, he is still a member of Wishbone Ash. And he has seen a lot of interesting things along the way. Watching the birth of rock'n'roll in the 50s; stepping into the swinging 60s mod scene as a teenager; breaking through to the big time and touring the States with The Who; selling hundreds of thousands of copies of Argus; being managed by industry legend Miles Copeland; outliving punk and moving to America; battling former bandmates over the right to use the name Wishbone Ash, and fighting to keep that name alive through decades of changing tastes and styles--Andy Powell has been there, done it, and seen it all. And he's still doing it today.

Last Man Standing is not just the story of one man's adventures in music but also a journey through some of the most thrilling years of rock history. Honest, unpretentious, and often wryly amusing, it draws on half a century of mingling with the great and the good--not to mention the occasional nutcase. It's a book that will appeal strongly to fans of Wishbone Ash but also to anybody with even a passing interest in classic rock of the 70s and beyond.

Andy Powell is a songwriter and guitarist best known as the founder and sole remaining original member of Wishbone Ash. Born in Stepney, London, in 1950, he now lives in the USA with Pauline, his wife of more than forty years.

Colin Harper wrote professionally on music for The Independent, The Irish Times, Mojo, and other titles during the 1990s. He is the author of Dazzling Stranger: Bert Jansch And The British Folk And Blues Revival (Bloomsbury, 2000; revised 2006 and 2011) and Bathed In Lightning: John McLaughlin, The 60s, And The Emerald Beyond, and co-author of Irish Folk, Trad & Blues: A Secret History (Collins Press, 2004).

Ian Rankin is a Scottish novelist and crime writer best known for his internationally renowned Inspector Rebus series, which includes the bestsellers Knots and Crosses, Dead Souls, and Exit Music. His books have been translated into more than thirty languages, and in 2002 he received an OBE for services to literature.

Format: Paperback / softback, 320 Pages
ISBN: 9781908279811
Illustrations: 30 b-w & color photos
Size: 6.25 in x 8.5 in x 1.5 in / 158.75 mm x 215.9 mm x 38.1 mm