Listen to This If You Love Great Music

100 essential albums that really matter

Listen to This If You Love Great Music
$19.95 / £14.99
Author:
Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256088
Buy from an Online Retailer
We do not sell books through our website in the UK.
Please use the links below to buy from online retailers
US:
            
UK:
            
CA:
      
AU:
   

Description

Listen To This If You Love Great Music is a must read for anyone with even a passing interest in music. Featuring 100 of the best albums from the last four decades, clashmusic.com​ editor Robin Murray shares his passion for exceptional music and offers insightful takes on what elevates these records above the competition.

Robin steers clear of the usual classics – The Beatles and The Clash, for example – and instead goes deep into his record collection to pull out the albums he considers the greatest ever. For each, a solid case is made for why it represents a watershed moment in music history, outlining the story behind the record and critiquing what constitutes a classicUniquely curated to offer a fresh perspective on the last 40-plus years of music, find politically charged rock brushing shoulders with dub-infused electronica, progressive pop and dreamy shoegaze shaken awake by ear-drum rattling grime and house music.  

Whether it’s bass-heavy hip-hop from Nas that inspired a thousand MCs to pick up a mic or experimental indie dance from LCD Soundsystem that blurred genres and tempted musicians to trade in their guitars for synthesizers, this is an essential rundown of the albums that really matter. You need to play them loud.

The author

Robin Murray is acting Editor-in-Chief at Clash, having worked on the magazine for over a decade interviewing the likes of Michael Stipe, Lizzo, Nile Rogers, Blondie, Graham Coxon, Kim Gordon and many more. In his role as Online Editor, Robin oversaw the growth of ClashMusic.com from a start-up blog to an internationally respected website, helping run showcases at The Great Escape and SXSW, and exposing a strong social-media following to the best contemporary music. Based in London, Robin also writes for Crack, London In Stereo, The List and The Skinny, and lectures on Music Journalism at the University of Creative Arts in Epsom, Surrey.
 
 

Reader reviews

Specs

Format: Hardback, 224 Pages
ISBN: 9780711256088
Illustrations: 100 colour photos
Size: 6.496 in x 8.858 in / 165 mm x 225 mm
Published:

You might also be interested in

Elements Of Composition
Learn the basics of composition with Drawing School: Fundamentals for the Beginner! The elements of composition are point, shape, mass, volume, texture, value, and color. Let’s talk about a few of them one by one. Point A point is a single mark on a page without depth, height, or length. A group of points in ...
Read More >
Celebrate Mother’s Day!
Mother’s Day is just around the corner and we’re sharing fun activities and recipes to help mom celebrate! Now through May 13th, get 35% off your order with the code MOM18. Dream Big Dreams Get Inspired Try the Latest Craft Trend Make Time for Self-Care  Gather Together in the Kitchen   Get Zen with Paper Crafts ...
Read More >
Expressive Painting: Reflections
How do you make a watercolor stand out? Try adding reflections! In Expressive Painting we see how to make our paintings alive. Reflections add energy and color to a scene. They can suggest an afternoon rainstorm or help make the foreground interesting. Paint reflections at the same time you paint the object. If there is a ...
Read More >
See More Posts