Landmark A History of Britain in 50 Buildings

Landmark by Anna Keay and Caroline Stanford

A History of Britain in 50 Buildings

Foreword by:
Format: Hardback, 288 Pages
ISBN: 9780711236455
Publisher: Frances Lincoln
Buy from an Online Retailer
$40.00 $32.00 / £25.00

This engaging and sumptuously illustrated book celebrates the Landmark Trust’s achievement in the protection of British heritage since it was first established 50 years ago. From a medieval hall house to the winner of the 2013 Stirling Prize for Architecture, 50 buildings rescued by Landmark from threatened oblivion are presented here, vividly illustrating the history of Britain from 1250 to the present day. Presented in the order in which they were built, the selected buildings include the unusual, the fantastic, the spectacular, the utilitarian and the enchanting, each one offering a fascinating glimpse into the past of the British people.  From a 15th-century inn in Suffolk to an Elizabethan hospital in Yorkshire, a lighthouse on Lundy to an Italianate railway station, each has a fascinating story. In telling the stories of how each of these buildings came to be, how they were used and how they were adapted by subsequent generations, this book brings history to life through the evidence in the buildings our ancestors have left behind. The Landmark Trust’s often heroic rescue of each of these buildings is also placed in the context of the Trust’s own evolution to date and the history of British conservation practice. For those interested in British history or architecture, this enthralling book will bring fresh insights into both; for everyone interested in buildings conservation, the book will provide an insight into the unique national treasure that is the Landmark Trust.

DR ANNA KEAY is a historian with a professional specialism in historic buildings. She has a BA in Modern History from Oxford University, and a PhD in 17th-century British history from the University of London. Formerly a curator at Hampton Court Palace and Curatorial Director of English Heritage, she is now Director of the Landmark Trust. Her books include The Magnificent Monarch (2008), about King Charles II; The Elizabethan Tower of London (2001) and The Crown Jewels (2011). She is also a regular contributor to TV and radi

CAROLINE STANFORD has been Historian to the Landmark Trust since 2001. She holds a BA in Modern History from Oxford University, an MA in Early Modern History from London University, and an MSc in Historic Conservation from Oxford Brookes University. She has researched many of the Trust's buildings, participating in Landmark's rescue of some of Britain's finest buildings at risk. This combination of academic research and applied practice allows her to write and contribute widely across all building types and periods to all types of media.

Griff Rhys Jones came to national attention in the early 1980s for his work in the BBC television comedy sketch shows Not the Nine O' Clock News and Alas Smith and Jones alongside Mel Smith, with whom he founded television production company Talkback Productions. More recently, he has presented all three series of the BBC television series Restoration in which viewers decide on which listed building in immediate need of remedial works is to win a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.

Format: Hardback, 288 Pages
ISBN: 9780711236455
Illustrations: over 200 photographs in colour and b-w
Size: 9.37 in x 11.417 in / 238 mm x 290 mm
"This handsomely illustrated history showcases many of these enchanting buildings"